Officials ready for return of Gallagher Premiership Rugby

The men in the middle have been selected as Gallagher Premiership Rugby returns from the European hiatus for Round 10.

Experienced official Wayne Barnes takes charge of the weekend’s opening clash as Worcester Warriors welcome Northampton Saints to Sixways under the Friday night lights.

Barnes will be overseeing his 206th Premiership match and will be assisted by Paul Dix and Anthony Woodthorpe for the fixture, which will be shown live on BT Sport.

Meanwhile the big clash of the round will see Thomas Foley take charge when Exeter Chiefs host Saracens at Sandy Park in a repeat of the 2018 Premiership Rugby Final.

Reigning Champions Saracens are still undefeated in all competitions this season, coming off back-to-back Heineken Champions Cup wins against Cardiff Blues, but will face a stern test in Devon.

A win for the visitors would see them extend their two-point lead at the top of the table while the Chiefs will be looking to leapfrog Mark McCall’s men with a victory in front of their home supporters.

Foley will be assisted on the day by Christoph Ridley and Greg Macdonald, with Geoff Warren on TMO duty, as he takes charge of his 58th fixture in the division.

Meanwhile, Luke Pearce will be the man with the whistle when Leicester Tigers, looking for their first League win since October, welcome Harlequins to Welford Road.

JP Doyle will look after the other Saturday match, along with assistant referees Adam Leal and Wayne Falla, as Sale Sharks take on Bristol Bears at the AJ Bell Stadium.

Both clubs are battling to move up the table as they are part of a pack of seven teams separated by just four points in the lower half of the League.

Elsewhere, Karl Dickson takes charge of his 12th game in the top flight as he referees Newcastle Falcons against Gloucester Rugby at Kingston Park on Sunday, while the weekend’s final game between Wasps and Bath Rugby will see Matthew Carley officiate.

Friday 21 December

Worcester Warriors v Northampton Saints (Sixways, 7.45pm)

Referee: Wayne Barnes (206th Premiership game).

Assistant Referees: Paul Dix Anthony Woodthorpe.

TMO: Rowan Kitt.

Citing Officer: Nick Wood.

Saturday 22 December

Exeter Chiefs v Saracens (Sandy Park, 3pm)

Referee: Thomas Foley (58th Premiership game).

Assistant Referees: Christophe Ridley Greg Macdonald.

TMO: Geoff Warren.

Citing Officer: Duncan Bell.

Leicester Tigers v Harlequins (Welford Road, 3pm)

Referee: Luke Pearce (82nd Premiership game)

Assistant Referees: Craig Maxwell-Keys Roy Maybank

TMO: David Grashoff

Citing Officer: Paul Hull

Sale Sharks v Bristol Bears (AJ Bell Stadium, 3pm)

Referee: JP Doyle (161st Premiership game)

Assistant Referees: Adam Leal Wayne Falla

TMO: Trevor Fisher

Citing Officer: Danae Zamboulis

Sunday 23 December 

Newcastle Falcons v Gloucester Rugby (Kingston Park, 3pm)

Referee: Karl Dickson (12th Premiership game)

Assistant Referees: Hamish Smales Philip Watters

TMO: Sean Davey

Citing Officer: Andy Blyth

Wasps v Bath Rugby (Ricoh Arena, 3pm)

Referee: Matthew Carley (79th Premiership game)

Assistant Referees: Jonathan Healy Peter Allan

TMO: Keith Lewis

Citing Officer: Andrew Pearce

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter

Article source:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.