Peter O’Mahony to captain Ireland

peter o'mahoneyInterim Ireland conduct rugby manager Les Kiss has reliable that behind rower Peter O’Mahony will captain a patrol for a summer debate to North America, following Rory Best’s call-up to a British Irish Lions squad.

Peter O’Mahony’s preference as summer debate captain was reliable this evening, with a 23-year-old Munster flanker set to lead Ireland for a initial time opposite a USA in Houston on Saturday, Jun 8.
The Les Kiss-coached Irish side, that includes 28 players in a furloughed party, will also face Canada in Toronto a following Saturday (June 15).

It has been a fast arise for O’Mahony who has knowledge of captaining teams during schools, club, provincial and general level, including stints during a helm of a series of Ireland underage teams and both a Munster comparison and ‘A’ sides.

He done his Ireland comparison entrance opposite Italy in a 2012 RBS 6 Nations and now has 14 caps to his name, including 10 starts.

His flexibility has seen him line out in all 3 positions in a behind quarrel for Ireland, and he even spent time on a wing during their final diversion of a 2013 Championship opposite Italy.

His proposal years make him a youngest Ireland captain given Brian O’Driscoll – also 23 behind afterwards – skippered a group to feat over Australia in Nov 2002.

O’Mahony will also be a initial Cork local to captain Ireland given a recently late Ronan O’Gara did so opposite England in Mar 2008.

Notably, O’Mahony takes on a comparison captaincy for a summer debate only as associate behind rower and his inheritor as Ireland Under-20 captain in 2010, Rhys Ruddock, gears adult to lead a Emerging Ireland patrol in Georgia subsequent month.

As good as O’Mahony’s graduation to a captaincy role, a further of Rory Best to a British Irish Lions patrol means that Leinster harlot Sean Cronin will step adult from a Emerging Ireland row for comparison avocation in North America.

The actor holding Cronin’s place in a Emerging Ireland patrol will be reliable in due course.

IRELAND Squad (North American Tour – USA Canada):

Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster)
Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Tom Court (Malone/Ulster)
Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Declan Fitzpatrick (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Jamie Hagan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *
Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster)
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht) *
Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)
Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster)
David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Kieran Marmion (Galwegians/Connacht) *
Paul Marshall (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Mike McCarthy (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Kevin McLaughlin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) *
Stuart Olding (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) *
Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) (capt)
Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
Mike Sherry (Garryowen/Munster) *
Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster)
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)
Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster)
Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster)

EMERGING IRELAND Squad (Tblisi Cup, Georgia):

Michael Allen (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) *
Michael Bent (Dublin University/Leinster)
Andrew Conway (Blackrock College/Leinster) *
John Cooney (Lansdowne/Leinster) *
David Foley (UL Bohemians/Munster) *
Eoin Griffin (Galwegians/Connacht) *
Cathal Marsh (Dublin University/Leinster) *
Michael Heaney (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) *
Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) *
David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster) *
Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster)
Richard Lutton (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) *
Brendan Macken (Blackrock College/Leinster) *
Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) *
Eoin McKeon (Galwegians/Connacht) *
Martin Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster) *
Niall Morris (Leicester Tigers) *
Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster) *
Ian Nagle (Cork Constitution/Munster) *
Robbie Diack (Malone/Ulster) *
Tiernan O’Halloran (Galwegians/Connacht) *
Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) (capt)
Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster) *
John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) *
Lewis Stevenson (Malone/Ulster) *
Sean Cronin’s deputy tbc

* Denotes uncapped player

A series of players were not deliberate due to injury, including:

Stephen Ferris, Eoin Reddan, Luke Fitzgerald, Gordon D’Arcy, Luke Marshall, David McSharry, Keith Earls and Stephen Archer


Article source: