Keith Wood among 3 Irish rugby greats to join IRB Hall of Fame

Keith Wood skittles George Gregan in a 2003 World Cup.

IN A DEAL that creates enormous sense, a International Rugby Hall of Fame and a IRB Hall of Fame have been merged.

Both enterprises have run exclusively for a series of years though sense, and finances, have prevailed and all of rugby’s greats will now be immortalised underneath one roof. The general code has been incorporated into a IRB indication and, to symbol a agreement, 37 rugby legends will join a ranks over a subsequent year.

Of a 37, many of whom are New Zealanders and Welshmen, are 3 former Irish captains. Fergus Slattery, Keith Wood and Tom Kiernan will be inducted to a gymnasium of celebrity in a entrance months. Between them, a group won 178 Test caps for Ireland and done 14 British Irish Lions Test appearances.

Fergus Slattery 1971

Flanker Fergus Slattery (right) in movement for a 1971 Lions group that finished their debate of South Africa winning and unbeaten.

Source: Getty Images

The contingent will join a likes of Irish legends Willie John McBride, Tony O’Reilly and Jack Kyle. Other new internationals that will be fasten a greats embody Sean Fitzpatrick, Joost outpost der Westhuizen, Grant Fox and Ieuan Evans.

The initiation ceremonies will also recognize ‘pioneers and greats from a women’s diversion and some of a good characters from a commencement of a 20th century’.

Article source:

About Rugby College

Rugby College displays the latest news, views and results from the Rugby world. The vast majority of our information is gathered from news sources around the web, and we always leave the original article trackback in place.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply